Blog Post 10–Digital Teacher Identity

I have been conscious about what I put on the internet since I began high school. Since the beginning, my mother (a sex trafficking therapist), always preached to me the dangers of putting my personal info on social media sites. She had an irrational, consistent fear that I was going to be kidnapped every time I logged onto Facebook. Towards my senior year in high school, horror stories were going around gossiping about how jobs employers and college admission personals uses one’s Facebook to make final decisions on acceptance. After hearing this, I turned my Facebook onto super-privacy mode.

My name is rare. I’m the only Lexy/Alexis Smolko on Facebook, which makes it easy to find me on Google. Luckily, I only have one social media account (Facebook) so I can scrutinize every action easily. I not only watch my own words, actions, and pictures on my Facebook, but also my friends’, who are linked to me whether I like it or not. Now I work in a church as a youth minister intern so I am expected to be an internet role-model. If I wouldn’t want my preacher to see something on my profile, I do not post it.

As far as my name goes in the World Wide Web, I am clean for future education employers. However, I do not bring any assets to the table. For the next few years, I plan on building up my digital teacher identity by establishing a LinkedIn profile, making a literature blog, and becoming more involved in teaching related societies.

 

Leave a Reply

